This is the "Film Studies" page of the "Film Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Google Drive Google Plus HUHS Email HUHSLibrary on Pinterest HUHSLibrary on Facebook HUHSLibrary on Twitter Moodle at HUHS Destiny Online Library Catalog Online Library Scheduler Librarian's Notes:  HUHS Library Blog Toolkit at the HUHS Library Media Center Lessons at the HUHS Library Media Center LibGuides at the HUHS Library Media Center HUHS Library Media Center Logo HUHS Library Media Center Home HUHS Library Media Center Logo

Film Studies  

Last Updated: Mar 18, 2014 URL: http://libguides.huhs.org/content.php?pid=579138 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Film Studies Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Film and Television Awards

Academy Awards aka Oscars / Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences
Emmy Awards (TV) / Academy of Television Arts & Sciences
Golden Globe Awards (Film & TV) / Hollywood Foreign Press Association
Screen Actors Guild (SAG) Awards (Film & TV)
Directors Guild Awards (Film & TV)
Writers Guild Awards (Film & TV)
Film Independent Spirit Awards
Gotham Independent Film Awards
Los Angeles Film Critics Association Awards (LAFCA)
New York Film Critics Circle Awards
Critics' Choice Awards (Broadcast Film Critics Association)
BAFTA Awards (British Film & TV) / British Academy of Film & Television Arts

 

Film Archives

Film archives and institutions are a great place to begin research. They offer primary source material. Listed below are links to some of the major film archives and institutions from around the world.

American Memory from the Library of Congress
Free and open access to sound recordings, moving images, including a database of early motion picture collections and films.

MoMA | Film
MOMA's collection includes more than 22,000 films and 4,000,000 film stills, the strongest international film collection in the United States.

Motion Picture and Television Reading Room : Library of Congress
Offers access to old films and authors the national Film Registry preservation list.

Moving History | A Guide to UK Film and Television Archives in the Public Sector
"A research guide to the United Kingdom’s twelve public sector moving image archives."

Moving Image Archive 
Thousands of free digital movies uploaded by Internet Archive users, inculding classic full-length films, daily alternative news broadcasts, cartoons, and concerts. Many are available for free download.

Prelinger Archives
2,000 films, including those produced by and for US corporations, nonprofit organizations, trade associations, community and interest groups, and educational institutions.

UCLA Film & Television Archive
With over 220,000 films and television programs dating back to the 1890s, this is one of the largest repositories of television programming in the world.

Wisconsin Center for Film and Theater Research
Housing over 300 collections of manuscripts, over 15,000 motion and sound recording, and two million still photographs and promotional graphics, WCFTR is in your own back yard and ready to explore.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip