This is the "Research Guides" page of the "The Research Paper" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Google Drive Google Plus HUHS Email HUHSLibrary on Pinterest HUHSLibrary on Facebook HUHSLibrary on Twitter Moodle at HUHS Destiny Online Library Catalog Online Library Scheduler Librarian's Notes:  HUHS Library Blog Toolkit at the HUHS Library Media Center Lessons at the HUHS Library Media Center LibGuides at the HUHS Library Media Center HUHS Library Media Center Logo HUHS Library Media Center Home HUHS Library Media Center Logo

The Research Paper  

Last Updated: Mar 18, 2014 URL: http://libguides.huhs.org/content.php?pid=579139 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Research Guides Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Research Guides

Getting Started

Essential Questions: Starting Your Research
Good research always starts with a question.   The questions drives your inquiry and your search should generate additional questions that will help you explore and analyze a problem.  Learn more about the art of asking good questions here.

Locating Resources

Badgerlink for Beginners
Baderlink is a service provided by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction to insure that all of it' citizens have adequate access to the resources they need to be well-informed and active participants in both civic and intellectual dialogue. Learn the basics of how to access this gift here.

Exploring EBSCOHost
One of the key components of Badgerlink  is the EBSCOHost collection of databases.  These databases include informational resources aimed at the youngest citizens, news and other databases suited for high school learners and adult citizens, and academic research databases especially designed for academic researchers.  There are even ebook collections for primary, middle, and high school students.  Use this guide to help you understand how to select the appropriate database and zero in on just the information you need.

Exploring New and Alternative Sources of Information
Information comes to us today via many devices and in many different formats.  This guide is designed to help you explore new and different sources of information, beyond the book, the periodical, and the basic web site.

Getting to Know Your Destiny Online Library Catalog
Our library catalog offers you one place to search the collections, both physical and digital, available to you.  This guide will get you started with logging in and searching all we have to offer.

Searching the Web
We know you search the web, but do you search well.  This guide will teach you to become both more efficient and more selective when searching the open web.  It will also teach you to mine the deeper web with tools, such as Google Scholar.

CONFIDENTIAL: HUHS Library Passwords
Looking for access to our databases from a remote location. Click here and enter the "master password." Don't know the master password?  Ask your teacher or a librarian.

The Annotated Bibliography

Annotated: Conversations with Media
Annotation allows a reader or viewer to engage with a media text in an active way.  As a learner, you can improve both your understanding of new knowledge and your critical thinking skills by annotating instead of simply taking notes. Use this guide to learn more about how to engage with the media you consume.

Use Your NoodleTools
Whether you're creating a simple Reference list or a complete Annotated Bibliography, Noodle Tools provides you with the templates and tips for creating correct citations. What's more, the virtual notecard tools offers you an efficient method of keeping track and organizing the information you uncover and the ideas you develop.

Evaluating Sources

Media Bias Uncovered
Before you use a resource, it's important to discover any possible bias that may impact the information.  Once bias is uncovered, you are better armed to discard it or seek alternative viewpoints that will balance your research.  Learn some quick tricks to discovering bias here.

Writing Your Paper

Plagiarism - A Student Guide
As you write, it's important to keep track of both your own ideas and the ideas that you borrow from others.  This guide is part of the Plagiarism Workshop that all E10 students participate in.  It will help you to not only recognize, but also to avoid plagiarism.

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip