This is the "Overview" page of the "Endangered Species" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Google Drive Google Plus HUHS Email HUHSLibrary on Pinterest HUHSLibrary on Facebook HUHSLibrary on Twitter Moodle at HUHS Destiny Online Library Catalog Online Library Scheduler Librarian's Notes:  HUHS Library Blog Toolkit at the HUHS Library Media Center Lessons at the HUHS Library Media Center LibGuides at the HUHS Library Media Center HUHS Library Media Center Logo HUHS Library Media Center Home HUHS Library Media Center Logo

Endangered Species   Tags: animals, endangered species  

Last Updated: Oct 9, 2013 URL: http://libguides.huhs.org/endangered Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Endangered Species Research

In the course of this research, you'll be required to cite at least three credible sources. As you look for resources keep these things in mind:

  • Use a variety of resources that expand your knowledge, rather than simply repeat information found in other resources.
  • Pay close attention to publication dates.  Dated information may be no longer be accurate when you are engaged in scientific study.
  • This is a hot topic, often the focus of personal projects.  Steer clear of resources that show an individual or emotional bias. Look for pages sponsored by credible organizations and backed by scientific research.

 

Reference Books

 Destiny: HUHS Library Catalog
Check here for works related to an individual species.  

Cover Art
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
Call Number: R 590.03 GRZ
Publication Date: 2004
Some reviewers call "Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia the best reference work on animals ever published. Internationally renowned for its scientific reporting, this set should be a major point of reference for researchers and students studying the animal kingdom. Thorough articles familiarize readers with animals found everywhere on the globe, detailing their life cycles, predators, food systems, overall ecology and much more.

Cover Art
Teen Guides to Environmental Science
Call Number: R 333.72
Publication Date: 2004
Examines the human impact on the environment, including air and water pollution, soil erosion and deforestation, wildlife, and the problems of disease and toxic wastes and provides illustrated images, and timelines.

Cover Art
Beacham's Guide to Endangered Species of North America
Call Number: R 578.68 BEA
Publication Date: 2000
Contains entries that provide information about endangered or threatened North American plants and animals, discussing physical characteristics, behavior, habitat, distribution, threats, and conservation efforts; arranged taxonomically, covering dicots.

Cover Art
World of Animals
Call Number: R 590 WOR
Publication Date: 2003
This multi-volume set presents the animal kingdom in easy to read articles. Great starting place for basic information.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Mammals
Call Number: R 599.03 MAC
Publication Date: 2001
A guide to the world's wild mammals, presenting overviews of each order or groups of orders; featuring accounts of individual species, groups of closely related species, or families of species; providing sidebars that offer insights into the social organization, foraging, breeding biology, and conservation of specific species; and including photo stories of animals in the wild.

 

Search EbscoHOST

EbscoHOST provides over 25,000 articles related to endangered species through the following databases: MAS, Masterfile, Science Reference Center, and GreenFile.  Use this box to search them all.

Wildlife Research
 

More Online Resources...

Access Science
AccessScience is a discovery and reference tool for high school and college students that provides fast and easy access to authoritative information in all major areas of science and technology.

Global Issues in Context  and Student Resources in Context 
In-Context resource provide holistic topic perspectives by integrating reference articles; periodical and newspaper articles; primary sources; multimedia records, video and audio content in an informational mashup designed to meet the way students search in today's online world.

 

Web Resources

  • USDA National Wildlife Research Center  Icon
    Offered by the United States Department of Agriculture, the research center provides access to the most current news about research surrounding wildlife preservation and welfare.
  • USFW Endangered Species Program  Icon
    Use the quick search features to identify crucial actions being taken to preserve current endangered wildlife. The interactive map feature focuses on success stories by state or region.
  • World Wildlife Federation Species Directory  Icon
    Quick and comprehensive information on species currently endangered or on watch.
  • Endangered Species International  Icon
    This conservation program focuses on critically threatened species, worldwide. Check out their "current projects" page.
 

Searching Wikipedia?

Search Wikipedia:

Keep in mind that Wikipedia is an open-edited source.  Credibility varies.  Always:

  • Double check facts.  Go ahead and use Wikipedia as a catalyst for your research, but do NOT cite Wikipedia as a source.
  • Review the "Talk" page.  This will highlight potential areas of controversy within the article.
  • Check out the sources used.  BONUS:  Sometimes these can lead you to more in-depth information.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip