Substance use prohibition has a long, cultural history. When the legal prohibition of alcohol (manufacture, transportation, and sale) in the United States became constitutional law, social change was inevitable. Were those changes positive or negative? Why was the amendment so short lived? Research prohibition in the 1920's to gain a historic snap shot of social effects and then apply what you've learned to the similar questions surrounding the legalization of marijana in the United States today.
Research the effects of prohibition on American society in the 1920’s. Address the following questions:
Why were so many Americans in favor of the 19th amendment?
How effective was the 19th amendment?
What were the unintended consequences of prohibition?
Why was an amendment needed to repeal an amendment?
Taking into consideration your research regarding prohibition in the 1920's, look at the current question/problem of marijuana in this country. State your opinion on whether marijuana should be legalized. Find quotes from credible resources (research scientists, politicians, health officials, etc.) to support your opinion.
State your opinion in a professional manner.
Quote #1 to support your opinion – analyze the quote as to why it supports your opinion.
Quote #2 to support your opinion
Quote #3 to support your opinion
Use APA style in submitting a reference page to document your research.
AccessScience is a discovery and reference tool for high school and college students that provides fast and easy access to authoritative information in all major areas of science and technology.
Historical Chicago Daily Tribune (Remote: hartford+ password)
Search the entire the Chicago Daily Tribune from its first date of publication. Gain an eye-witness perspective of historical events and people.
SIRS Researcher Issues and Government Reporter (Remote: hartford+ password)
Current and historic government documents; landmark and recent U.S. Supreme Court decisions; information about U.S. Justices, U.S. Presidents, elected leaders, federal departments and agencies. View the issues most studied and debated by students in context by exploring historical origins, related issues, global perspectives, and the essential questions under debate.
Student Resources in Context (Gale)
Student Resources in Context provides holistic topic perspectives by integrating reference articles; periodical and newspaper articles; primary sources; multimedia records, video and audio content in an informational mashup designed to meet the way students search in today's online world.
Teen Health and Wellness (Remote: huhs + password)
Developed specifically for teens, with their unique concerns and perspective in mind, this resource provides students with comprehensive support and self-help tools on topics including diseases, drugs, alcohol, nutrition, fitness, mental health, diversity, family life, and more.
US History in Context (Gale)
U.S. History in Context delivers comprehensive, contextual, media-rich search results from the most extensive online collection of historical information available today. This complete overview of U.S. history covers the most-studied events, issues and current events, combining primary source documents, reference articles, full-text periodicals and journals, and viewpoint essays. The interface has been designed for the way today's generation of learners search for information.
Prohibition: A Case Study in Reform (website)
Prohibition was a big issue during the Progressive era. Many businesses that sold alcoholic beverages, as well as the liquid distillers were connected with corrupt politicians. Also, the use of alcohol was associated with poverty, alcoholism, and mental illness. The Temperance Movement's goal was to stop alcohol's negative influence on society. The short article on this page is about prohibition during the Progressive era in the early 1900's. There are a few additional articles about prohibition listed here which you can also read.
The Temperance Archive (website)
As industrialization and urbanization changed the nature of American society, many Americans launched reform movements to cure society of social ills related to poverty, crime, and alcohol. By the mid-19th century, temperance focused on prohibition rather than moderation and began to impact state laws. Analyze how temperance invaded all aspects of American culture as songs and stories told of drunkenness and sobriety. Melodramas and art depicted the journey from respectability to degradation due to alcohol. Read as P.T. Barnum gives his definition of democracy and how it was connected to temperance movement. Analyze the arguments of temperance advocates.
State Medical Marijuana Laws (website)
This web site provides helpful information about medical marijuana usage and laws related to the usage of what is normally an illegal substance. The article includes a summary of a report by the Institute of Medicine in which the possible therapeutic affects of marijuana are discussed (along with the potential drawbacks to using marijuana). The article also discusses the difference between marijuana laws at the federal and state levels, as well as a chart showing whether states require a patient registry for those using marijuana for medical purposes.