This is the "Home" page of the "Historical Lead-Off" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Google Drive Google Plus HUHS Email HUHSLibrary on Pinterest HUHSLibrary on Facebook HUHSLibrary on Twitter Moodle at HUHS Destiny Online Library Catalog Online Library Scheduler Librarian's Notes:  HUHS Library Blog Toolkit at the HUHS Library Media Center Lessons at the HUHS Library Media Center LibGuides at the HUHS Library Media Center HUHS Library Media Center Logo HUHS Library Media Center Home HUHS Library Media Center Logo

Historical Lead-Off   Tags: history, primary sources, teaching  

Last Updated: Oct 21, 2011 URL: http://libguides.huhs.org/ushistory Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Reference from GALE

 

Search...

Courtesy WI DPI/Badgerlink
EBSCO Database
 

Reference from ABC-Clio

Daily Life Online:
World Folklore & Folklife
 
(Remote: huhs + password)

"Folklore permeates the everyday lives of people around the world. We inherit a rich tradition of holidays, festivals, language, stories and fairy tales, proverbs, foodways, and folk remedies that define our society and our place within it. World Folklore and Folklife provides an exciting and accessible way to explore this vast and growing treasury of knowledge.

 

Do you do history?

Do you watch the History Channel? Read historical romance? Explore local "haunts" from the past?  The question is: 

Do you do history outside of school? 





 

In the Library...

Cover Art
Today in history : a day-by-day review of world events
Call Number: R 909 TOD
ISBN: 0789496984

Cover Art
We interrupt this broadcast : the events that stopped our lives-- from the Hindenburg explosion to the Virginia Tech shooting
Call Number: R 070.1 INT
ISBN: 9781402213199

 

Your Task

Choose/develop one activity to introduce to the class for each day of the week that your group is assigned. Activities should last NO LONGER THAN 5 MINUTES.

·         Quiz Game

·         This Week in History

·         Interesting anecdote of person or event

·         Primary document performance (speech, dialogue)

·         Musical moment (original or historic)

·         Taste of history (tasting, recipe, explanation with historical connection)

·         Audience participation activity (practice a dance step, historic game or activity, etc.)

·         Picturing history (art of the time period or a drawing activity)

·         Back to nature (showing how people interacted with or saw nature at the time)

 

Best U.S. History Websites

The Library of Congress American Memory
Collections of photographs, recorded sound, moving pictures, and digitized text all make this an awesome experience to explore.  
History Matters 
A "US Survey Course on the Web,"  this site is both a gateway to web resources and a gathering place for people practicing history.
National Archives and Records Administration
Archives, exhibits, census records, Hot Topics, and more allows research to research people and explore featured exhibits drawing from our nation's archives.
Our Documents
Offering 100 milestone documents, compiled by the National Archives and Records Administration, this site chronicles United States history from 1776 to 1965. 
PBS Online
An assorted and diverse collection of web exhibits supplement PBS television series, often including a summary of each episode, interviews (often with sound bites), a timeline, primary sources, a glossary, photos, maps, and links to relevant sites.
Digital History
An up-to-date U.S. history textbook that includes annotated primary sources on United States, Mexican American, and Native American history, and slavery, along with succinct essays on the history of ethnicity and immigration, film, private life, and science and technology. The Doing History feature lets users reconstruct the past through the voices of children, gravestones, advertising, and other primary sources. The site's Ask the HyperHistorian feature allows users to pose questions to professional historians.

Want to suggest a "Best" U.S. History Website?  Leave a comment below and we'll review. Great general links will be added here.  Links to more specific time periods in U.S. History may just lead to a new LibGuide!

 

Search Google right!

Gotta google?  Then google history the right way.

Simply typing in a search term or phrase brings back the typical, unpredictable result list.  Wikipedia?  Basic background information.  Perhaps some usable links. Images? Stay clear of watermarked or copyrighted pics!  And then, there are articles (who's the sponsor?) and blogs (any bias?) and the expected advertisement (want to buy a book, anyone?).

Instead, try a timeline search.  Timeline let's you drill down into primary source material quickly, offering you an inside view into what was being said and when.

 

In the Library....

We have a large collection of US history books and reference titles.  The following titles will be particularly useful in searching for key concepts:

Cover Art
Cooking in America
Call Number: 394.1 MCL
ISBN: 0313335745

Cover Art
Declassified : 50 top-secret documents that changed history
Call Number: 327.12 ALL
Publication Date: 2008

Cover Art
Great events from history (series)
Call Number: R 909 GRE

Cover Art
Menus from history : historic meals and recipes for everyday of the year
Call Number: R 641.3 CLA
ISBN: 0313349304

Cover Art
Presidents : debating the issues in pro and con primary documents
Call Number: R 320 PRE

Cover Art
Working Americans (series)
Call Number: R 305.5

Cover Art
Sports and games of the 18th and 19th centuries
Call Number: R 790 SPO
ISBN: 0313316104

Cover Art
And the crowd goes wild : relive the most celebrated sporting events ever broadcast
Call Number: 796 GAR
ISBN: 1570714606

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip