This is the "Resources" page of the "WWII Personal Perspectives" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Google Drive Google Plus HUHS Email HUHSLibrary on Pinterest HUHSLibrary on Facebook HUHSLibrary on Twitter Moodle at HUHS Destiny Online Library Catalog Online Library Scheduler Librarian's Notes:  HUHS Library Blog Toolkit at the HUHS Library Media Center Lessons at the HUHS Library Media Center LibGuides at the HUHS Library Media Center HUHS Library Media Center Logo HUHS Library Media Center Home HUHS Library Media Center Logo

WWII Personal Perspectives   Tags: history, primary sources  

Last Updated: Oct 30, 2013 URL: http://libguides.huhs.org/ww2 Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts
Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Finding Primary Accounts

Destiny Online Catalog

Use the online library catalog to search for more resources in our library or on the web (Webpath Express)!

Read newspaper accounts and find images through our online databases.
 Access Newspaper Archives
 AP Images

 Historical Chicago Daily Tribune

 

In the library...

Cover Art
Competing Voices from the Pacific War - Chris Dixon (Editor); Sean Brawley (Editor); Beatrice Trefalt (Editor)
ISBN: 1846450101
Publication Date: 2008-12-01
Key decisions and events of the Pacific War are explored in this work by juxtaposing Allied and Japanese accounts, giving voice to both sides in this epic confrontation.

Cover Art
Competing Voices from World War II in Europe - Harold J. Goldberg
ISBN: 1846450330
Publication Date: 2010-03-01
This book explores the key decisions and events of World War II in Europe by comparing and contrasting Allied and Axis views of the important events. It examines controversies and present a wide range of competing voices.

Cover Art
Letters from the Front, 1898-1945 - Michael E. Stevens (Editor); Sean P. Adams (Editor); Ellen D. Goldlust (Editor)
ISBN: 0870202685
Publication Date: 1992-12-15
This volume tells the stories of 62 men and women from Wisconsin who served in the Spanish-American War, World War I, and World War II. A vivid social history of wartime as told by those who took part in these foreign conflicts. Most of them are "ordinary" people, uprooted from farms, factories, and offices, who took part in extraordinary events.

Cover Art
Lines of Battle - Annette Tapert; Dwight D. Eisenhower (Introduction by)
Call Number: 940.54 L64
ISBN: 0812913167
Publication Date: 1987-04-12
A collection of letters from American servicemen during World War II that reflect the human side of warfare.

Cover Art
Personal Perspectives - Timothy C. Dowling (Editor)
ISBN: 1851095756
Publication Date: 2005-09-27
A compelling account of the personal experiences of groups who were affected by World War II, both on and off the battlefields.

Cover Art
Presidents from Hoover Through Truman, 1929-1953 - John Moser
ISBN: 0313314411
Publication Date: 2001-10-30
Develop a rich understanding of issues such as the New Deal, dropping the atomic bomb, and McCarthyism.

Cover Art
The Greatest Generation Speaks - Tom Brokaw
ISBN: 0375503943
Publication Date: 1999-11-30
Letters received by Brokaw after the publication of his book The Greatest Generation. Penned by veterans and family members, they tell very personal stories and offer tribute to the every day soldier and citizen.

 

In the library...

Cover Art
Poets of World War II - Harvey Shapiro (Editor)
Call Number: 811.5 SHA
ISBN: 1931082332
Publication Date: 2003-01-27
Acclaimed poet and World War II veteran Harvey Shapiro's pathbreaking gathering of work by more than sixty poets of the war years includes Randall Jarrell, Anthony Hecht, George Oppen, Richard Eberhart, William Bronk, and Woody Guthrie.

Cover Art
Stalingrad - Antony Beevor
ISBN: 0140284583
Publication Date: 1999-05-01
A definitive account of World War II's most harrowing battle. It conveys the experience of soldiers on both sides as they fought in inhuman conditions, and of civilians trapped on an urban battlefield, based on interviewed survivors and discovered completely new material in a wide range of German and Soviet archives, including reports of prisoner interrogations, desertions, and executions.

Cover Art
Stolen Voices - Zlata Filipovic (Editor); Melanie Challenger (Editor); Olara A. Otunnu (Foreword by)
ISBN: 0143038710
Publication Date: 2006-12-26
From the author of the international bestseller Zlata’s Diarycomes a haunting testament to how war’s brutality affects the lives of young people

Zlata Filipovic’s diary of her harrowing war experiences in the Balkans, published in 1993, made her a globally recognized spokesperson for children affected by military conflict. In Stolen Voices, she and co-editor Melanie Challenger have gathered fifteen diaries of young people coping with war, from World War I to the struggle in Iraq that continues today. Profoundly affecting testimonies of shattered youth and the gritty particulars of war in the tradition of Anne Frank, this extraordinary collection— the first of its kind—is sure to leave a lasting impression on young and old readers alike.


Cover Art
The Internment of Japanese Americans During World War II - John C. Davenport
ISBN: 1604136812
Publication Date: 2010-01-01
In the aftermath of the Japanese raid on Pearl Harbor on December 1941, more than 100,000 loyal Americans paid with their freedom for the actions of an enemy with whom they shared nothing but their ethnicity. The book describes the tragic tale of injustice and racial hatred against a minority caught in the crosshairs of a world war.

Cover Art
War Is... - Marc Aronson (Editor); Patty Campbell (Editor)
ISBN: 0763642312
Publication Date: 2009-02-10
In a provocative anthology, two editors with opposing viewpoints present an unflinching collection of works reflecting on the nature of war. It includes essays, memoirs, letters, and fiction from such contributors as Mark Twain, Bob Dylan, Chris Hedges, and Ernie Pyle.

Cover Art
War Letters - Andrew Carroll; Douglas Brinkley (Editor)
ISBN: 0743202945
Publication Date: 2001-05-15
The Legacy Project includes more than 50,000 war letters discovered in basements, attics, scrapbooks, and old trunks all around the country. The best of these letters are assembled in this extraordinary collection, offering unprecedented insight into Americans at war.

Cover Art
We're in This War Too - Judy B. Litoff (Editor); David C. Smith (Editor)
ISBN: 0195075048
Publication Date: 1994-07-07
This book draws upon an archive of 30,000 wartime letters--the product of a decade-long, nationwide search--to provide an immediate sense of the lives of women in every branch of the armed forces during WW2. The first comprehensive account of uniformed women in the war ever published.

Cover Art
When Is Daddy Coming Home? - Richard Carlton Haney
ISBN: 0870203649
Publication Date: 2004-10-27
World War II was coming to a close in Europe and Richard Haney was only four years old when the telegram arrived at his family's home in Janesville, Wisconsin. That moment, when Haney learned of his father's death in the final months of fighting, changed his and his mother's lives forever. Haney, now a professional historian, explores the impact of war on an American family.

Cover Art
World War II 365 Days - Margaret E. Wagner; Library of Congress Staff (Contribution by); David M. Kennedy (Introduction by)
ISBN: 0810996375
Publication Date: 2009-03-01
Drawn from the vast collections of the Library of Congress,World War II 365 Daysis a unique compilation of riveting text and more than 500 images, including photographs, lithographs, political cartoons, maps, on-the-scene combat art, and other visual materials from all the major combatants. Together, they reveals the drama and complexity of the greatest war in human history.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip